Achievements and Recognition

Our colleagues are doing exceptional things every day. Here you can find updates on some of the many achievements of our community.

Have an achievement you’d like to share on this page? Submit it via this form.

Outstanding staff recognized by Dean of Education award for excellence

Several outstanding staff members were recently recognized by Blye Frank, Dean, Faculty of Education, with nominations for the Faculty’s 2017 Dean’s Award for Staff Excellence.

Anna Bin, Senior Manager, Office of Faculty Affairs & HR, was the recipient of this year’s award, which recognizes excellence in staff service and support, and acknowledges those who go above and beyond their defined duties to contribute to the Faculty.

Additional outstanding staff nominated and recognized at the award ceremony included:

  • Alex Allen, Graduate Program Assistant, Department of Educational & Counselling Psychology, & Special Education
  • Dr. Heather Frost, Manager of Research Support Services, Office of Research
  • Anna Ip, Administrative Support, Assistant to the Head, Department of Curriculum and Pedagogy
  • Sean Park, Senior Financial Assistant, Office of Finance, Dean’s Office

Congratulations to all of those recognized!

Learn more.

Dean Giustini wins the Margaret Ridley Charlton Award for Outstanding Achievement

The Canadian Health Libraries Association (CHLA/ABSC) has recognized Dean Giustini, reference librarian at UBC’s Biomedical Branch Library at the Vancouver General Hospital, with its Margaret Ridley Charlton Award for Outstanding Achievement.

The award recognizes a librarian who has made a significant contribution to the field of health sciences librarianship in Canada.

Learn more.

Jonathan Holzman awarded Medal for Distinction in Engineering Education

Dr. Jonathan Holzman, Associate Professor in the School of Engineering at UBC’s Okanagan campus, has been awarded the Medal for Distinction in Engineering Education by Engineers Canada.

The medal recognizes Dr. Holzman’s contributions in engineering education and leadership in Canada, and is awarded based upon teaching excellence, program development, and community engagement for the engineering profession.

Learn more.

Shauna Butterwick receives CASAE/ACEEA Lifetime Achievement Award

Congratulations to Dr. Shauna Butterwick, Professor in the Department of Educational Studies, Faculty of Education, who has been recognized with a CASAE/ACEEA (Canadian Association for the Study of Adult Education) Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award honours individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the field of adult education in Canada, and was delivered to Dr. Butterwick on May 29 during Congress in Toronto.

Read the original announcement on the Faculty of Education website.



Vancouver School of Economics professors win prestigious economics prize

Craig Riddell and David Green from UBC’s Vancouver School of Economics, alongside France St-Hilaire at the Institute for Research on Public Policy, are this year’s winners of the Purvis Prize for their book, Income Inequality: The Canadian Story.

The Purvis Prize is awarded annually to the authors of a highly significant, written contribution to Canadian economic policy. In addition to editing the book, Craig and David both contribute chapters, as do other members of the Vancouver School of Economics at UBC: Thomas Lemieux, Nicole Fortin and Kevin Milligan.

The award was established in 1994 in honour and memory of noted Canadian economist Doug Purvis who spent his professional career at Queen’s University. This is the second win for both Craig and David; Craig won the first year the prize was awarded in 1994 and David in 2007. Previous Vancouver School of Economics winners include Rhys Kesselman, John Helliwell, Brian Copeland and Scott Taylor, Erwin Diewert and Kevin Milligan.

Read more on the Purvis Prize winners.

UBC Library wins Gold at CPRS National Awards of Excellence

The UBC Library Communications team was behind the Open Access Awareness campaign. Left to right: Designer, Jasmine Devonshire, Photographer and Videographer, Clare Yow, Director, Becky Potvin, and Strategist, Michelle Blackwell.

UBC Library is the first academic library to be selected as the Gold winner for the 2017 CPRS Digital Communications campaign of the year for their Open Access Awareness campaign.

The campus-wide campaign launched in the Fall of 2016, and aimed to foster awareness and enhance student understanding around the Open Access movement and the open resources available through the Library.

Celebrated annually, the CPRS Awards showcase Canada’s best public relations and communications projects and campaigns.

Congratulations to the UBC Library Communications team, who was behind the Open Access Awareness campaign! Learn more.