Six UBC faculty named members of the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

Six UBC faculty have been named as members of the Royal Society of Canada’s College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists. Those named to the College represent the emerging generation of scholarly, scientific and artistic leadership in Canada. They are:

  1. George Belliveau, Language & Literacy Education
  2. Kai Chan, Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability (IRES)
  3. Christina Laffin, Asian Studies
  4. Joanna McGrenere, Computer Science
  5. Christian Steidl, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, Research Scientist at BC Cancer Agency
  6. Zhen (Jane) Wang, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Founded in 2014, the College is a handpicked selection of top mid-career scholars and artists in Canada. College Members have already received recognition in their fields for excellence and serve as ambassadors of their fields.

Learn more.